Youth Media Awards

The Youth Media Awards are an annual recognition of books, audiobooks, and other media for children and young adults presented by the American Library Association. Take a look at the winners and other top picks for each award below, and take an opportunity to check them out!


John Newbery Medal – the Newbery Medal is a commendation for outstanding contributions in children’s literature.


When You Trap a Tiger – Newbery 2021 Winner


Randolph Caldecott Medal – A commendations for outstanding picture books for children.


We Are Water Protectors – Caldecott 2021 Winner



Coretta Scott King Award – Recognizes an outstanding African-American author and illustrator for either children or young adult books.


Before the Ever After – Coretta Scott King 2021 Author Winner
R-E-S-P-E-C-T – Coretta Scott King 2021 Illustrator Winner


Legendborn – King & Steptoe New Talent Author Award



Michael L Printz Award – An award for excellence in literature written for young adults.


Everything Sad is Untrue – Michael Printz Award 2021 Winner



Schneider Family Book Award – An award recognizing books that exceptionally embody an expression of the disability experience.


I talk like a river
Show Me a Sign


This Is My Brain In Love



Alex Award – Recognition of the 10 best books written for adults that will appeal for a teen audience.



William C. Morris Award – Recognizes exceptional debut books published by a first time author for teens.


If These Wings Could Fly – Morris Award Winner



Yalsa Award for Excellence in Nonfiction


The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh


Search the Library Catalog:

Search Online Resources: